Active groups of the Ems Valley U3A

Groups are a very important part of the U3A.
Members may join any group they like, subject to space limitations. If a group for a subject close to your heart does not exist you are welcome to start a group within the U3A. If a group is full, and has a waiting list, all it needs a is someone to say they will be group organiser and another group can start. Other than requesting the support of the Ems Valley U3A committee there are very few other conditions to be met to start a group.
 
Here we list all the current, active groups within Ems Valley U3A. Some groups are full and others are running waiting lists. For more information on an individual group click the "information" link or contact the group organiser/coordinator. To contact a Group Leader use the email address below (if there is one) or by phone. A few group leaders/coordinators do not have email and so you must phone them using the phone number on the groups display that can be found at the monthly meeting. If you are unable to get to a monthly meeting you can email the Groups Coordinator by EMAIL.
 
For privacy and security reasons we do not usually include phone numbers on this web site unless a group coordinator or leader has asked us to.

THE GROUP NEWS PAGE HAS MORE UP-TO-DATE NEWS ABOUT MANY OF THE GROUP ACTIVITIES and
GROUP INFORMATION HAS A DESCRIPTION OF EACH GROUP
 
This page was last updated 

So - you would like to join a Group?
This is how ....
A short description of each Interest Group, containing the Leader's contact details, is displayed at every general meeting, so if you find something of interest contact the Group Leader as soon as possible with your name, phone number and e-mail address (if you have one).
The Group Leader will be able to give you full details about the Group's activities and will also tell you if there are vacancies or a waiting list. (S)he will also tell you about any special equipment or level of competence you may need to pursue your chosen activity.
You can also make contact with the Group Leader via the Ems Valley U3A website where more details of your chosen group can usually also be found.
 
Individual group email addresses are to be found below.

   

Group

Day and Time

Information

Availability updated 1 Sept 2016

Contact

Ancient Greece

1st Wednesday, 2.00-4.00pm

Information

WAITING LIST IS FULL at present

Juliet Walker
ancientgreece@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Architecture

3rd Wednesday

 

Vacancies

Jane Yoward
architecture@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Art Appreciation

4th Friday am

Information

Vacancies

Susan Resouly
artappreciation@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Astronomy

2nd Wednesday pm

Information

VACANCIES

David Smith
astronomy@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Birdwatching

2nd Thursday 9.30 - 11.30am

Information

NEW MEMBERS WELCOME

Reg Newnham
birdwatching@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Book Group 1

2nd Thursday pm

Information

VACANCIES

Book Group 2

1st Tuesday pm

Information

VACANCIES

Daphne Tomsett
bookgroup2@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Bridge (average ability)

Every Friday 10.00am-12.00pm

Information

Few vacancies

Lyn Dunphy
bridge@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Canasta

1st Tuesday pm

No information

Vacancies

Ann Broad
canasta@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Croquet 1

2nd Wednesday 10.00-12.00am

Information

Vacancies

Ann Newnham
croquet@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Croquet 2

4th Wednesday 10.00-12.00am

Information

No Vacancies

Ann Newnham
croquet@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Cycling For Pleasure

4th Monday 11.00am

Information

Vacancies

Gary Willard
cycling@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Discussion Group 1

3rd Friday pm

Information

Vacancies

Val Swarbrick
discussion1@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Discussion Group 2

2nd Friday pm

Information

VACANCIES

Barbara Molyneux
discussion2@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Drawing

2nd Monday 2.00-4.00pm

Information

Vacancies

Marguerita Taplin
drawing@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

* Clicking on an underscored INFORMATION link will take you to our Group Information page *

Family History Group

2nd Tuesday 2.00-4.00pm

Information

Vacancies

Mary Mumby
familyhistory@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

French

1st & 3rd Thursdays am

Information

VACANCIES

Val Ottewell
french@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Holiday French

First and Third Tuesday AM

Information

NO VACANCIES

Elisabeth Butler
holidayfrench@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Gardening 1

2nd Tuesday 10.00-12.00am

Information

Full

Gardening 2

2nd Tuesday am

Information

Waiting List

Deborah Nichol
gardening2@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Geology

1st Tuesday 1.30 pm

Information

We welcome any new members.

Roy Gask
geology@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Jazz Appreciation

2nd Tuesday pm

Information

VACANCIES

Steve Gorban
jazzappreciation@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Literature

3rd Thursday 2.00pm

Information

VACANCIES

Sandra McG
literature@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Local History

1st Friday pm

Information

All welcome

Reg Newnham
localhistory@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Mah Jong Monday Group

Every Monday 10.00am

Information

Full

Sheila Morris
mahjong@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Mah Jong Thursday Group

1st 3 Thursdays 3.00 to 5.00 pm

Information

Vacancies

Sheila Morris
mahjong@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Music Appreciation

2nd Thursday 10.00-12.00am

Information

Waiting List

Out with your Camera - (Beginners)

4th Wednesday AM

Information

Vacancies

Diana Driver
dayoutwithcamera@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Photography

1st and 3rd Monday 1.30pm-3.30pm

Information

Vacancies

Jeff Thatcher
photography@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Play reading 1

4th Tuesday 1.45pm

Information

Full

Mary Mumby
playreading1@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

* Clicking on an underscored INFORMATION link will take you to our Group Information page *

Play reading 2

4th Tuesday 2.00pm

Information

Vacancies

Glynis Blaber
playreading2@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Play reading 3

4th Thursday 2.00pm

Information

VACANCIES

Val Ottewell
playreading3@emsvalley.u3a.org.uk

Rambling

1st Wednesday 9.30am

Information

Everyone welcome!

Malcolm and June
rambling@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Scrabble 1

Information

Vacancies

Singing For Fun

4th Wednesday 2.00-3.30pm

Information

No limit, all welcome

Dave McVittie
singing@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Spanish Intermediate

1st & 3rd Fridays 09.30-11.30am

Information

No Vacancies

Richard Swaine
spanish@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Sunday lunches for Solos Group One

3rd Sunday 12.30pm

Information

Vacancies

Sunday lunches for Solos Group Two

2nd Sunday 12.30pm

Information

Vacancies

Alison Vaughan
sundaylunch2@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Theatre Visits

Date and times to be advised
See EVENTS page

Information

Everyone welcome

Ellie Turnbull
theatres@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Travellers Tales

3rd Monday 7.30pm

Information

New members welcome

Peter Goldfarb
travellerstales@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Walk and Pub lunch

1st Thursday 10.30am

Information

New members welcomed

John Gains
pubwalk@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Watercolour for beginners and Improvers

1st Thursday am

Information

Vacancies

Peter Hardy
watercolour@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Wine Appreciation 1

3rd Tuesday 3.00pm

Information

Waiting List

Pauline Tyrer
wine1@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Wine Appreciation 2

3rd Wednesday 3.00 to 5.00 pm

Information

Waiting List

Liz Collins
wine2@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

Wine Appreciation 3

3rd Tuesday 3.00 to 5.00 pm

Information

Enquiries welcome

Jan Wiles
wine3@emsvalleyu3a.org.uk

THE GROUP NEWS PAGE HAS MORE INFORMATION ON MANY OF THE GROUP ACTIVITIES

All members of groups MUST be U3A Members (though not necessarily Ems Valley) – members may be asked to show their current membership card. If any attendee is not a member INSURANCE FOR THE WHOLE GROUP AND THE CURRENT ACTIVITY is null and void.